The Official Website of State of Texas

Texas Department of Public Safety - Regulatory Services DivisionConcealed Handgun Licensing

Site Tools

Welcome to Concealed Handgun Licensing

Your previous session has expired. Please start again.

Before you begin, please read the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws and Selected Statutes (download Adobe Reader). You must be at least 21 years of age or at least 18 years of age if currently serving in or honorably discharged from the military. These exceptions do not apply to instructors. Please provide the following:

  • Social security number,
  • Valid driver license or identification card,
  • Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information,
  • Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only),
  • Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history (new users only),
  • Valid email address, and
  • Valid credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express)
    ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

This online service is provided by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas. The price of this service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State.

New Users

Apply for:
  • A new Concealed Handgun License
  • A new Instructor Certification (for those who want to teach CHL training courses)

Apply

Returning Users

Need to:
  • Retrieve a saved application
  • Renew your License or Instructor Certification
  • Change your address
  • Report a lost or stolen license
  • Check the status of a current application
  • Reprint a receipt
  • Texas DL Example
  • Texas DL Example
  • Numbers only
  • mm/dd/yyyy (Include slashes)
Texas.gov
For technical assistance regarding the website, please call 1-877-452-9060 or send an email to Texas.gov Help.
For questions about your Concealed Handgun License Application, please contact the CHL Customer Relations Center.